Introduction to Chakras part 2

What are the 7 Chakras?


The first three chakras are more physical in nature. Sometimes known as the Chakras of Matter, or the lower chakras. When we work through our physical chakras, we can open the spiritual chakras more fully.

1. Base / Root Chakra

  • element Earth, represents physical identity, oriented to self-preservation.
  • stability, security and basic needs. 
  • located at the base of the spine (tail bone)
  • represents the beliefs we have about our body, family and community, and the beliefs in what brings us safety and security. 
  • manifest visions, relationships, beliefs, work and life purpose at the material level.
  • when open, we feel safe and fearless, and we attract good health and prosperity. 
  • overactive: can manifest as greed or materialism.
  • under-active: can cause fear or nervousness.

2. Sacral Chakra

  • element water, represents our emotional identity, oriented to self-gratification.
  • creativity and sexual centre.
  • located above the pubic bone, below the naval
  • relates to the sexual organs, the small of the back & the reproductive system
  • represents how sensitive, sensual and passionate we allow ourselves to feel. 
  • self-image: In order to feel good about ourselves, we have to like the way we feel in our own skin.
  • overactive: can lead to addictions or being overly emotional.
  • under-active: can leave us apathetic or emotionally “numb”.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

  • element Fire, represents individuality and peace, oriented to self-definition.
  • power chakra 
  • located just above the naval.
  • represents our unique and individual self. 
  • strength of character; holds our personal power, self confidence and self esteem
  • Our life purpose is to be a leader and express our unique qualities as our greatest gift to others, rather than to conform and be a follower.
  • overactive: overly aggressive or domineering behaviour.
  • under-active: poor self-esteem or overly timid behaviour.

4. Heart Chakra

  • connects the lower chakras of Matter with the upper chakras of Spirit.
  • element air, represents social identity, forgiveness, love and balance. Oriented to self-acceptance
  • source of love and connection
  • bridge between our body, mind, emotions and spirit. 
  • represents how we come into and maintain relationships as well as our ability to hold love, compassion and forgiveness for ourselves and others.
  • creates a stable inner life environment of self acceptance as well as the love and acceptance of others.
  • overactive: clingy or smothering behaviour towards others.
  • under-active: cold or distant behaviour towards others.

5. Throat Chakra

  • element sound, represents creative identity, oriented to self-expression.
  • communication, verbal and creative expression, ability to speak our heart’s truth.
  • choose what is good for us and what isn’t. We feel the truth and convey it through communication.
  • overactive: talking too much without listening, dominating conversation or situations.
  • under-active: lack of communication. Not speaking the truth can result in this chakra becoming blocked.

6. Brow/Third Eye Chakra

  • element light, represents archetype identity, oriented to self-reflection. 
  • located in between the eyebrows, 
  • relates to the vision centres, intuition, imagination and inner vision. Our ability to see and perceive patterns in the world. 
    - When balanced: primary centre for us to be able to see our life purpose unfolding before us. We see how we fit into the world at every level, and if we are in the right place to express our life purpose at this time. 
    - overactive: spend too much time in fantasy worlds, nightmares or hallucinations.
    - under-active: thinking that is too rigid, denial of reality, or confusion

7: Crown Chakra

  • no element, represents knowing, universal identity and infinite possibility; oriented to self-knowledge.
  • located at the top of the head
  • associated with the pineal gland, cerebral cortex 
  • capable of memory, analytical thinking, of consciousness, of bliss and understanding. 
  • enlightenment and spiritual connection to our higher selves, to others, to the divine.
  • brings meaning and purpose to our lives and gives us infinite ways to express it.
  • If overactive: crown chakra can result in too much intellectualising or a mental detachment from the body
  • If under-active: spiritual indifference/uncertainty, or excessive materialism.